At a Special Meeting of the WEST DEVON BOROUGH COUNCIL held in the COUNCIL CHAMBER, KILWORTHY PARK, TAVISTOCK on TUESDAY the 19th day of DECEMBER 2023 at 12.00 Noon pursuant to Notice given and Summons duly served.

Members in attendance

* Denotes attendance Ø Denotes apology for absence ** Denotes attendance via Teams

* Cllr L Daniel – The Mayor (In The Chair)

Ø Cllr T Leech Cllr K Ball * Cllr U Mann Cllr A Blackman Cllr A Bridgewater * Cllr J Moody * Cllr C Mott Cllr M Calder * Cllr R Oxborough Cllr M Casbolt Cllr R Cheadle Cllr M Renders Ø Cllr I Saxby Cllr A Cunningham * Cllr D Sellis (Deputy Mayor) Cllr G Dexter * Cllr T Southcott Cllr C Edmonds * Cllr P Squire Cllr J Elliott * Cllr P Vachon
* Cllr N Viney Cllr M Ewings * Cllr S Guthrie * Cllr S Wakeham Cllr A Johnson * Cllr L Watts Cllr N Jory * Cllr C West Cllr P Kimber

Officers in attendance:

Chief Executive, Director – Strategy & Governance; Monitoring Officer and Head of Democratic Services

CM 46/23 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Cllrs Ball, Blackman, Ewings, Leech and Saxby.

CM 47/23 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The Mayor invited Members to declare any interests in the items of business to be considered during the course of the meeting but there were none made.

CM 48/23 HONORARY ALDERMEN - NOMINATIONS

Members considered a report that sought approval, in accordance with Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, for the nomination of Mr Mike Davies, Ms Diana Moyse, Mr Terry Pearce and Mr Paul Ridgers to be conferred the title of 'Honorary Alderman' in recognition of their respective service to West Devon Borough Council

In the ensuing debate, tributes were paid by a number of Members to the outstanding community service and dedication that each of the four nominees had demonstrated.

It was then proposed by Cllr L Daniel, seconded by Cllr M Renders and upon being submitted to the Meeting was declared to be **CARRIED** and "**RESOLVED** that, in accordance with Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman of the Council upon:

- Mr Mike Davies;
- Ms Diana Moyse;
- Mr Terry Pearce; and
- Mr Paul Ridgers."

(The Meeting terminated at 12.10 pm)	
•	Mayor